by Irving Chernev

Having learnt the basic moves, how exactly should a player improve? In this much loved classic, Irving Chernev explains 33 complete games in detail, telling the reader the reason for every single move. Playing through these games and explanations gives a real insight into the power of the pieces and how to post them most effectively.

About the author

Irving Chernev (1900–1981) was a Russian–American chess author who wrote over 20 books, including the bestselling Invitation to Chess and Logical Chess: Move By Move.

Price: £14.99
ISBN: 9780713484649
Extent: 256 pages
Format: Paperback
Size: 216 x 138 mm
Illustrations: chess square diagrams